Somerset Rebels 68 Redcar Bears 24

REDCAR Bears crashed to one of their biggest ever defeats on a night to forget at Somerset’s Oaktree Arena.

The meeting started in disastrous fashion for the Ecco Finishing Bears, as the hosts romped to maximum 5-1 heat advantages in each of the first five races – and there was little respite as the night progressed.
Even dependable No 1 Richard Lawson trailed home last in his opening ride – and his final outing – as the hosts mercilessly romped into a 20-4 lead.
The sequence was broken next time out when Lawson split Brady Kurtz and Pontus Aspgren but even so that couldn’t prevent Somerset from adding another two points to their lead.
Jan Graversen was left with a sore shoulder after a first bend fall in heat six but although he was fit to take his place in the rerun, he finished last after being passed by former Bear Charles Wright.
Aaron Summers had led but home No 1 Nick Morris soared past him before, on the last lap the Bears’ skipper suffered engine problems and Wright got by too.
You could have been forgiven for thinking it couldn’t get a whole lot worse… but you’d have been mistaken.
Carl Wilkinson came out on a tactical ride for heat seven but, in his eagerness to make it count, touched the tapes and had to start of a 15-metre handicap.
It remained one-way traffic and although Brady Kurtz fell with the hosts on a 5-1 in heat nine, Aspgren won the restart comfortably to make the score 41-13.
The second use of the black and white helmet colour was more successful with Lawson coming second in heat 11 though he was never close to challenging winner Olly Allen who went on to complete a four-ride full maximum.
Thereafter it all went the home side’s way again and the meeting ended as it had started, with a string of 5-1s – three this time.
Morris could even afford to have a puncture on the final lap of the nominated riders’ race and still complete a paid maximum.
REBELS: Nick Morris 14+1, Todd Kurtz 13+3, Olly Allen 12, Pontus Aspgren 9+1, Charles Wright 8+2, Paul Starke 6+2, Brady Kurtz 6.
BEARS: Carl Wilkinson 7, Richard Lawson 6, Jan Graversen 3+1, Aaron Summers 3, Hugh Skidmore 3, Rafal Konopka 1, Luke Crang 1.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s