And the winner is. . .

THE 2010 Redcar Bears Rider of the Year is. . .

Now I have a feeling I have have kept you all in suspense last year as well.
But, hey, it’s party time! We’re all gathered here at the Marton Hotel and Country Club enjoying the annual end of season bash.
The riders have given their speeches and big boss Brian has thanked the fans for their support during a pretty rotten season.
MC Gareth is honing his break-dancing skills in a back room ready to rip up that dancefloor later and the beer is flowing nicely.
The buffet looks pretty appetising too, so I guess I’d better tell you who won so I can get stuck into my second free helping of scran today (I was a guest at the Boro v Palace game this afternoon, you see).
Well, as I said in my speech: They said it was going to be a walkover… and it was!
Amazingly for the first time since speedway returned to Teesside, Gary Havelock has been crowned Bear of the Year.
He did it in style too, claiming 63.2% of the votes – which numbered more than 300 in total.
He won the Cleveland Clearwaste award for fastest Bear of the year too – so it was a notable double for the evergreen skipper.
Don’t miss Monday’s Gazette for an exclusive picture and Havvy’s reaction.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s